71 earn rank of UP Scientist

| Written by Arlyn VCD Palisoc Romualdo

The UP Scientists with University officials (Photo by Misael Bacani, UP MPRO)


Seventy-one faculty members and researchers from across the UP System received the rank of UP Scientist for the period 2018-2020. They were recognized during the UP Scientific Productivity System (SPS) awarding ceremony on May 28 at the School of Statistics Auditorium, UP Diliman (UPD).

Forty-four were named UP Scientist I, 11 earned the rank of UP Scientist II, and 16 were awarded UP Scientist III.


The faculty members and researchers named UP Scientist I (Photo by Misael Bacani, UP MPRO)


The UP Scientist II awardees (Photo by Misael Bacani, UP MPRO)


Recipients of the UP Scientist III rank (Photo by Misael Bacani, UP MPRO)


Per constituent university, the breakdown is as follows: UPD, 41; UP Los Baños, 11; UP Manila, nine; UP Visayas, two; UP Open University, three; UP Mindanao, one; and UP Baguio, four.

The last award given was a posthumous recognition to Dr. Perry Ong, who passed away on March 2, almost halfway through his term as dean of the UPD College of Science. At the ceremony, it was noted that when Ong first received the UP SPS award for 2012-2014, he earned the highest rank of UP Scientist III. He earned the same rank for 2015-2017 and again for 2018-2020. He was Professor 11 at the UPD Institute of Biology.


500 Internal Server Error- 聚星平台

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.


The UP SPS award is valid for three years. Apart from the rank of UP Scientist, each awardee receives a monetary incentive: a UP Scientist I is given P150,000 per year; a UP Scientist II, P200,000 per year; and a UP Scientist III, P250,000 per year.

To view the full list of UP Scientists for 2018-2020, click here: //ovpaa.up.edu.ph/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/SPS-Batch-2018-2020.pdf.